Port Nelson Sea Swims. Race three, November 21, 2019

Nice night in all respects. Sunny skies, relatively calm and not much current – just a bit of sun-strike on the first leg of the long swim. With many of our top swimmers in attendance at the Sportsperson of the Year awards, Luke Kelly was able to cruise to victory in the long swim ahead of Oxford Bailey and Hayden Squance, with Sophie Alexander leading in the women.

We had a few glitches with the timing system, but are confident we’re good to go for the future. In this week’s results, we failed to get times for swimmers in waves one and three, However, we did have the correct finish order and combining this with the finish photos by Pete Marshall have reconstructed some estimated times. These times are shown in italics. The finish order is correct and has been used to update the points table (below).

Here’s the reconstructed results, click here

The draw for a free entry in the Big Tahuna on March 7 went to Andrew Martin. Andrew – can you email me at petergibbs96@gmail.com for the code that will give you a free entry. Details – oceanswim.co.nz

Photos by Pete Marshall, click here

Points: click here

Story here soon – Check also The Nelson App on your mobile device, the website Sportzhub.com, The Nelson Weekly and The Waimea Weekly.

On Sunday we host race one of the Clements Endurance swim series – The Opening Splash – starting at 8am. The course is a reversal of the Eyebright Mile. Start at Tahunanui Beach and finish at the yacht club ramp. Short option, start at Richardson St Steps, swim to yacht club, 600m (must sign on at Tahunanui Beach from 7.15am-7.45am). High tide 8.31am (3.9m).

Just over two weeks until race one of the national Ocean Swim Series. The King of the Bays takes in a course between Milford and Takapuna on Auckland’s North Shore. For details and to enter: oceanswim.co.nz

Speaking of the Ocean Swim series, a free entry to The Big Tahuna on March 7 will be drawn randomly from swimmers this week. The winner’s name will be published here as soon as we have tonight’s results.

Many of our sea swimmers excel in the pool as well. Following success at the New Zealand Short Course Swimming Championships and a training camp on Auckland’s North Shore, five of our swimmers have been selected to swim in the 2019 NSW Open Water Championships during December. Congratulations to Alec Swan, Bendi Kepess, Sierra Thomas, Abbey Smale and Isabella Thurlow, and good luck in Australia.