Port Nelson Summer Sea Swim Series

Welcome to the 2019-2020 Port Nelson Summer Sea Swim Series

The 2019-2020 season starts November 7, 2019. Our sea swims have been held in Nelson, New Zealand over the summer on Thursday nights for the last 32 years.



Sea Swims ...

Each night there will be a short and a long course. The short swim will generally be 200m-500m, while the long swim will be 800m-1500m. Exact distances will vary depending on conditions.



Thursday Nights

The Port Nelson Summer Sea Swims are held each Thursday night at 6.15pm from the Nelson Yacht Club ramp on Wakefield Quay in Nelson, starting on November 7, 2019. The final competition night is on March 5, 2020.


Clements Endurance

The Clements Windows and Doors Endurance Series of four longer swims will provide an extra challenge, particularly for those swimmers targeting the national Ocean Swim series.


Endurance Series Dates

Sunday November 24, 8am Opening Splash (2km); Sunday January 12, 11.55am, Eyebright Mile (2km); Sunday February 9, 10.30am, Haulashore Circuit (2.8km): Sunday February 23, 10.20am, Ironman Challenge (3.8km); The national Ocean Swim Series comes to Nelson in March with The Big Tahuna (3km), with shorter options.

"Sea swims have been held in Nelson over the summer on Thursday nights for 32 years. For the first 20 years, the swims were organised by Peter Owen of the Nelson company Eyebright, and were known as the Eyebright swims. That historical link remains, with the annual Eyebright Mile, actually a swim of 2km."