Eyebright Mile, January 10, 2021

Records tumbled today, with three men going below Cadman Irvine’s 1993 time of 23.21 and Abbey Smale taking 84 seconds of Sam Winward’s 2015 time of 25.41.

Alec Swan took the win in 22.37 after a sprint to the line with Hayden Squance, who stopped the clock at 22.38, with Oxford Bayley finishing in 22.43. Luke Kelly was fourth in 24.01.

Abbey finished fifth, setting the new women’s record at 24.17 as Isabella Thurlow (26.23) and Brooke Swan (26.43) took the next two places across the line.

Christchurch triathlete John Newson was eighth, ahead of Jo Thornton and Fenn Anderson, followed by Christina Harris and Marlborough swimmer Jodie Lovell.

Conditions were perfect for the field of 106 in the main swim of 2km and seven swimmers in the short swim of 1300m, which was won by Josh Barry from Thomas Newsom and Ethan Beetar.

Here’s the full results

Times over the past 34 years

Story in Sportzhub

Photos by Pete Marshall

Some photos by Tom Young